Search

Home > Staff > Overview
Staff

Overview

Prof Steve Reid
Director

Tel No: 021 406 6781
Cell No: 083 447 1907
Email: steve.reid@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-62

Teaching & Research Fields
Primary health care / Collaboration for Health Equity through Education and Research (CHEER) / Compulsory community service / Family medicine / Rural health / District health systems / Community based services support & intermediate care policy / Community oriented primary care (COPC) / Population based approaches to health / Community based education / Medical education / Human resources for health / Global consensus on social accountability / Creativity and health / Arts and healthcare

Mr James Irlam
Senior Lecturer: Evidence-Based Health Care

Tel No: 021 406 6377
Cell No: 076 180 9972
Email: james.irlam@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-64

Teaching & Research Fields
Evidence-based practice / Primary health care / Climate change and health

Dr Carla Tsampiras
Senior Lecturer: Medical Humanities

Tel No: 021 406 6111
Cell No: 072 480 3888
Email: carla.tsampiras@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-68

Teaching & Research Fields
History / Politics, polemics, practice and history of HIV/AIDS / Disease and society in Africa / Slavery and colonialism / Woman and violence / Gender and sexuality / Medical humanities / Culture, psyche and illness

Mrs Johannah Keikelame
Lecturer: Health Promotion

Tel No: 021 406 6342
Cell No: 082 775 6824
Email: johannah.keikelame@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-67

Teaching & Research Fields
Health promotion / Primary health care / Community needs assessment / Patient and carers perspectives on epilepsy

PhD in progress: ‘Perspectives on epilepsy on the part of patients and carers in a South African urban township’

Mrs Sarah Crawford-Browne
Lecturer: Culture, Psyche & Illness (CPI)

Tel No: 021 406 6369
Cell No: 072 456 3014
Email: sarah,crawford-browne@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-69

Teaching & Research Fields
Culture, psyche and illness / Primary health care / Psychological trauma / Community based mental health programming

PhD in progress: ‘Meaning constructions about violence and psychological adjustment amongst women residing in a high violence community’

Dr Ben Gaunt
Honorary Lecturer

Cell No: 072 264 0333
Email: gaunts@gmail.com
Address: Zithulele Hospital, Eastern Cape

Teaching & Research Fields
Primary health care / Rural health / district health systems / Community based healthcare and development / Health systems research / Multi-disciplinary healthcare / Clinical services / Medical education and outreach programmes/ HIV/AIDS / Obstetrics & gynaecology

Dr Karl le Roux
Honorary Lecturer

Cell No: 072 858 9751
Email: karlleroux@gmail.com
Address: Zithulele Hospital, Eastern Cape

Teaching & Research Fields
Primary health care / Rural health / District health systems / community based healthcare and development / Medical education and outreach programmes / Clinical services / HIV/AIDS / Obstetrics & gynaecology / Nutrition research

Dr Rob Baum
Honorary Research Associate

Cell No: 079 989 1347
Email: rob.baum@uct.ac.za

Teaching & Research Fields
Playwriting / Theatre, speech, choreography & dance / Movement therapy / Inter-disciplinary arts research / African dance ethnography / Creative arts

Mrs Claudia Naidu
Junior Research Officer

Tel No: 021 406 6195
Cell No: 072 603 0887
Email: claudia.naidu@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-71

Research Fields
Collaboration for Health Equity through Education and Research (CHEER) / Social accountability

PhD in progress: ‘An evaluation of the development of social accountability of medical graduates at the University of Cape Town’

Mr Dehran Swart
Health Teaching Platform Manager

Tel No: 021 406 6439
Cell No: 082 422 2007
Email: dehran.swart@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-70

Research Fields
Community health / Public health / Health promotion / Tobacco control / Child energy-related injuries

Ms Sharm Naidoo
Facility Manager: Vanguard Student Learning Centre

Tel No: 021 695 3849
Cell No: 072 603 0887
Email: sharm.naidoo@uct.ac.za
Address: Vanguard CHC, Candlewood Rd, Bonteheuwel 7764
Mrs Christolene Beauzac
Site Facilitator: Mitchell’s Plain

Tel No: 021 404 7692
Cell No: 072 668 3974
Email: christolene.beauzac@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-61
PhD in progress: 'Regulating the Body: Health promotion and diabetes in the Western Cape, South Africa'
Mrs Tsuki Xapa
Site Facilitator: Khayelitsha

Tel No: 021 650 1976
Cell No: 082 713 0297
Email: sybilxapa@telkomsa.net
Room No: E47-61
Mrs Mercia Arendse
Site Facilitator: Vanguard

Tel No: 021 406 6497
Cell No: 084 688 8330
Email: arendsemercia@gmail.com
Room No: E47-75
Mrs Fatima le Roux
Site Coordinator: New Somerset Hospital

Tel/Fax No: 021 421 6320 
Cell No: 072 490 6844
Email: fatima.leroux@uct.ac.za
Address: Somerset Hospital, North Block, Medical Superintendents Office, Greenpoint

Mrs Nichola Daniels
Site Coordinator: Victoria Hospital

Tel No: 021 799 1164
Fax No: 021 799 1251
Cell No: 084 674 6745
Email: nichola.daniels@uct.ac.za
Address: Victoria Hospital, Waterloo Road, Wynberg 7800

Mrs Sandra Adams
Site Coordinator: Vredenburg

Tel No: 022 715 1945
Cell No: 083 729 5008
Email: sj.adams@uct.ac.za
Address: 5 Witteklip Street, Vredenburg 7380
Ms Zoey Nyati
Site Coordinator: Lentegeur Hospital

Tel/Fax No: 021 371 9278
Cell No: 073 739 5020
Email: zoey.nyati@uct.ac.za
Address: UCT Resource Centre, Lentegeur Psychiatric Hospital, Highlands Drive, Mitchell’s Plain
Ms Cha Johnston
Admin Officer & PA to Prof Reid

Tel No: 021 406 6031
Cell No: 082 897 3417
Email: cha.johnston@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-66
Mrs Elloise Kennell
Senior Secretary

Tel No: 021 406 6761
Cell No: 084 748 7631
Email: elloise.kennell@uct.ac.za
Room No: E47-25 (Reception)